Civil Service examination is a nation wide competitive examination in India conducted by UPSC for recruitment of various civil service positions of Government of India.

The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) was constituted in 1947. It is the most prestigious service in India and offers an state of art and challenging career.
There is prestige and glamour associated with this service. The IAS officers handle affairs of the government in both Centre and State level. Involving framing of the policies and its implementation..

Around 22 other services or posts are part of the Civil Services Exam which consists of 3 stages – Preliminary, Mains and Interview to select officers for Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS) and Indian Police Service (IPS), among others.

  • For IAS and IPS , a candidate must be a Citizen of India.
  • For Other Services, a candidate must be either : A Citizen of India, or a subject of Nepal, or a subject of Bhutan, or a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st Febuary,1962.
  • A person of Indian Origin who has migrated from Pakistan,Burma,Srilanka,East African Countries of Kenya,Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania,Zambia,Malwi,Zaire,Ethiopia and Vietnam.
  • A. 21-32 years for General Candidates
  • B. 21-37 years for SC/ST
  • C. 21-35 years for OBC
  • D. 21-37 years for J&K
The Candidate must hold a degree of any university
Every candidate appearing at Civil Service Examination, who is otherwise eligible, shall be permitted 6 attempts at the examination.
  • 6 for General
  • Unlimited for SC/ST
  • 9 for OBC
Candidates must be physically fit according to the physical standards for admission to Civil Services Examination as per guidelines given in Appendix-III of Rules for Examination published in the Gazette of India